Minnesota's Legacy

Artist Mentor Program

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Name of minor withheld due to MN Statutes 2018, section 3.303.10
Recipient Type
Start Date
June 2017
End Date
November 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To learn character development, stage presence, movement and expression. To focus on developing backstories for character, spend time on Hamlet monologue, try different voices in radio theatre.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Acquired new vocal technique, worked on physical presence and stiffness.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Artist Mentor Program

Project Details

Musical Theatre Mentorship.

Project Manager
Organization Name
Name of minor withheld due to MN Statutes 2018, section 3.303.10
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Amy Ann Mursu: Juris Doctorate, BA Philosophy, Minor English, musician pianist, clarinetist, tubist, and violinist; Carolyn Flieder: fiber artist, former quilt shop owner; Susan Kay: Retired Professor, PHD American Studies at Washington State University; Retreat Coordinator New York Mills Arts Retreat; Erin Gunderson: BA Religion, Minor History Concordia College, Library Branch Manager in Breckenridge, musician and artist; Greg DeGier: BS Instrumental Music UofM Morris, trumpet player Central Lakes Symphony Orchestra and various ensembles and pit bands; Ann Hermes: MA Philanthropy and Development Saint Mary's, BA Speech and BS Mass Communication, Executive Director Alexandria Area Arts Asc.; Andrew Sletten: BA Music UofM Morris, drummer, actor, organizer of community arts space and performance venue; James Arvidson: Graduate of the Regional Leadership Institute, community service volunteer; Jamie Beyer: MS Public Administration Program MSU Moorhead, marketing, graphic designer; Siobhan Bremer: Asc Professor of Theatre, UofM Morris, MFA Acting MSU Mankato; regional equity actor, director, dancer; Barbara Lent: Former photography studio, textile artist, owner of a quilting retreat center; Stan Goldade: HS math instructor, photographer, ceramicist, sculptor; Jeannie Pladsen: Retired Payroll Manger UofM Morris, community leader; Michael Weatherly: Visual Artist, Printmaker, BFA Art History/Studio Art UofM Morris; Jeff Merrick: BFA Iowa State University, Grant County Courthouse Site Manager; Delayne Karls: BS Elementary Education MSU Moorhead, retired teacher, arts advocate; W. Scott Olsen: MFA Creative Writing UofMass Amherst, Professor of English Concordia College.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Sharon Thalmann: actor and director, Ramona Jacobson: dancer, instructor.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed