Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Kirstin J. Cronn-Mills
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2013
End Date
February 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

I will draft a young adult novel and collaborate with a Minnesota visual artist to produce an illustrated novel from the draft. Outcome will be reached if the novel is submittable to editors by February, 2014 and art has been created for one-third of the novel.

Measurable Outcome(s)

I was able to draft, revise, and edit the novel ORIGINAL FAKE during the 2013 grant year. I collaborated with artist Erik Johnson to include illustrations in the first three chapters of the novel. The novel (with illustrations) was sold to senior editor Stacey Barney at Penguin/G.P. Putnam's Sons in March 2014. I will be sure to thank the State of Minnesota in my acknowledgments when the novel is published in 2016. 2: Erik and I presented a panel at the 2013 Loft Teen Writers' Conference in October 2013 and shared our work and ideas with 15 students. I also shared our work with 31 college students, friends, and colleagues in January 2014 at a presentation at Minnesota State University, Mankato (this reading was done in conjunction with Diana Joseph, another State Arts Board recipient). This work will also be shared in fall 2014 in a visual narrative class I am co-teaching at South Central College in North Mankato.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Cronn-Mills will complete Original Fake, an illustrated novel for young adults. She will read from the manuscript and present a lecture in both the Twin Cities and Mankato.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Kirstin J. Cronn-Mills
(507) 385-0363
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Judson Bemis Jr.: Actor, arts administrator, founder and principal of Clere Consulting. Secretary, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; John Gunyou, City manager, Minnetonka.; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Pamela Perri: Executive vice president, Builders Association of Minnesota.; Margaret Rapp: Former educator, Saint Paul Academy and Summit School. Officer at-large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Cezarija Abartis: Author, Faculty member, St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud; Lesley Arimah: Writer, novelist, Mankato; Nicole Helget: Writer, Mankato; Elizabeth Johnson-Miller: Poet, essayist, faculry member, College of St. Benedict/Saint John's University; Moe Norton-Westbrook: Writer, performance artist, Minneapolis; Cole Perry: Writer, Bovey; Dominic Saucedo: Writing faculty, Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Patrick Thomas: Editor and program manager, Milkweed Editions, Minneapolis
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Executive director Sue Gens (651) 215-1600