Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Erica S. Rasmussen
Recipient Type
In Progress
Start Date
March 2018
End Date
February 2019
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Reduce my teaching schedule and increase my studio time, in order to produce new artwork for a Minnesota gallery. Photographs of the artist's artwork and a quantitative report will be submitted. 2: Introduce Minnesotans to hand-papermaking through make-and-take experiences in the PopUp Paper Shop. Written responses regarding the success of the PopUp Paper Shop will be provided from the educational coordinators at all of the venues, in addition to a quantitative report.

Project Overview

Artist Initiative

Project Details

Paper artist Rasmussen will produce new artwork for a Minnesota gallery and provide free make and take experiences to the public through the PopUp Paper Shop during the summer months.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Erica S. Rasmussen
(651) 429-4029
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Officer at -Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Mayor of Red Wing, elected 2016. Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies.; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Shannon Estlund: Artist and educator; Arts Board grantee; Syed Hosain: Artist; Arts Board grantee; Paul Linden: Sculptor, craftsman, teacher; Arts Board grantee; Mary Ann Papanek-Miller: Professor and chair of the department of art, media, and design, DePaul University; mixed media artist.; Kimberlee Joy Roth: Ceramic artist; Arts Board grantee; John Sterner: Sculptor, painter, arts educator; Sandra Taylor: Interdisciplinary artist; teaching artist; Arts Board grantee; Sara Udvig: Public artist working with Partnership Art; Arts Board grantee

Conflict of Interest Disclosed