Minnesota's Legacy

Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Christopher F. Newberry AKA Chris Newberry
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2017
End Date
June 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The artist (Chris Newberry) will edit a rough cut of the documentary. The outcome will be considered a success if I created a rough cut that both receives constructive feedback from colleagues and members of the public and sets me on a path to completion.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The artist (Chris Newberry) worked with collaborators to (1) edit scenes for his documentary and (2) research and collect related archival materials. The artist considers the outcome a success because he made significant and measurable progress in the production and post-production of his documentary project during the grant period. More than an hour's worth of edited material was achieved.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview

Artist Initiative

Project Details

Newberry will edit his documentary that chronicles the circumstances and impact of the Jacob Wetterling case, a decades old child abduction crime. A rough cut screening is planned.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Christopher F. Newberry AKA Chris Newberry
(612) 940-5603
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary?s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Lyle Corbine, Jr.: Film writer, director, and producer; Arts Board grantee; Cecilia Cornejo: Filmmaker; film and media professor at Carleton Collge; Kristen Lowe: Filmmaker and visual artist; teaches art and drawing at Gustavus Adolphus; Kelley Meister: Multimedia artist and educator; Deborah Wallwork: Independent filmmaker and artist, editor and director, Red Eye Video; Maya Washington: Filmmaker, writer, performer, and arts educator

Conflict of Interest Disclosed