Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Jay O. Eisenberg
Recipient Type
In Progress
Start Date
January 2017
End Date
December 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

I will continue to expand this performance piece to engage with and include other trans narratives from the Twin Cities community, not merely my own. Successful representation of multiple trans stories onstage, and engagement with the Minneapolis trans community in pre-show roundtables and post-show talkbacks. 2: I will cultivate my skills as a solo deviser, as someone who is more accustomed to ensemble devising and working with pre-existing text. I will seek feedback from my director/dramaturg and from other trans theatre artists.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview

Artist Initiative

Project Details

Eisenberg will develop Big Old Rock, a one person show about the geology of Minnesota and the topography of transgender bodies, that draw from the performer's life and interviews with transgender adults and youth. Two performances will take place in the Twin Cities.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Jay O. Eisenberg
(914) 844-5308
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary?s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Patrick Calder-Carriere: Faculty member, School of Performing Arts, Minnesota State University Moorhead; Susan Haas: Artistic producing director, Open Eye Figure Theatre, Minneapolis; Rachel Haider: Performing arts manager, Northfield Arts Guild; Wendy Knox: Artistic director, Frank Theatre; Daniel Pinkerton: Playwright and lyricist; Aamera Siddiqui: Playwright and performer; coartistic director, Exposed Brick Theatre; James Williams: Chair, department of theater and dance, Winona State University; artistic director, Paul Bunyan Playhouse

Conflict of Interest Disclosed