Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Christopher J. Atkins AKA Christopher Atkins
Recipient Type
In Progress
Start Date
March 2017
End Date
February 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

I will update my home studio so that it is more sustainable and self-sufficient. By printing my own photo proofs, I can plan more productive studio visits and streamline my editing process so that it saves time and resources. 2: I will improve my artistic practice by inviting a public audience to their share feedback on my photographs. I will present a selection of photographs during a public critique event. I will record then integrate edits, comments and suggestions from visitors into my new work.

Project Overview

Artist Initiative

Project Details

Atkins will purchase new equipment to create a sustainable and self-sufficient home studio that maximizes time and materials. In January 2018, he will host a public critique of his work at Kolman & Pryor Gallery in Minneapolis.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Christopher J. Atkins AKA Christopher Atkins
(847) 217-7970
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Member of the Smithsonian National Board. Former chair of the board, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Officer at Large, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Uri Camarena: Business consultant, Metropolitan Economic Development Association. Board chair, Minneapolis College of Art and Design.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary?s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Sean Dowse, Former executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Citizens for the Arts. Secretary/Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Ceramic artist. former executive director of the Minnesota Project.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund; Christina Widdess: Arts organization consultant; former managing director, Penumbra Theatre

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Gloria Brush: Chair and professor of photography, University of Minnesota Duluth; Anna Eveslage: Photographer and filmmaker; Arts Board grantee; Terry Gydesen: Documentary photographer; Arts Board grantee; Alison Malone: Award-winning photographer; Areca Roe: Photographer and Arts Board grantee; University of Minnesota photography instructor; Laurie Schneider: Photographer specializing in fine art portraiture, art, weddings, and animals; Paul Wegner: Art department faculty teaching photography at Inver Hills Community College, Arts Board grantee

Conflict of Interest Disclosed