Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Todd Melby
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2016
End Date
February 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Todd Melby will produce a 30 to 60-minute audio documentary with media artist Diane Richard. The project will be evaluated based on the creation and presentation of the audio documentary in a public setting. The most likely venue is Pohlad Hall at the Minneapolis Public Library.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Documentary was completed and aired on the radio. A public screening was also held. More Minnesotans were able to engage with Minnesota artists because of this project. As noted, the documentary aired on five public radio stations around the state and has been streamed more than 1,500 times on SoundCloud. On-air listening, online listening is estimated to have exceeded 25,000 people. The program itself explored the cultural impact of a movie about Minnesota by Minnesota filmmakers (Joel and Ethan Coen). So there's that, too.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Melby will produce an audio documentary titled, “We Don't Talk Like That: 'Fargo' and the Midwest Psyche.” The documentary will be presented at the public library in downtown Minneapolis and at a location in greater Minnesota.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Todd Melby
(612) 803-7350
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Dobson West: Senior advisor, Spell Capital Partners Fund
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Layla Dowlatshahi: Playwright and Arts Board grantee; writing instructor at Normandale Community College; Denise Fick: Artist Initiative grantee; illustrator/animator/graphic designer; Dain Ingebretson: Freelance teaching artist, writer, producer; Peter Nelson: Assistant professor of new media art at Saint Olaf; Kevin Obsatz: Filmmaker and video artist; Arts Board grantee; Frank Sander: Filmmaker and multimedia artist
Conflict of Interest Disclosed