Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Ariana Lindquist
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
June 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To successfully complete a photo documentary on historic Sweden Minnesota migration, illuminating the persistence of identity within extended families. Creation of a multimedia video, which will be presented along with an open to the public artist talk at the Malung Community Center in Roseau.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The artist engaged with many people to complete this project documenting persistence of identity. She then created, presented, and donated a multimedia video of the work to the community. 1. Concrete attendance numbers from the supper+ artist talk provided by the Malung Community Center. 2. Concrete attendance numbers provided by Roseau High school art teacher Mary Vatnsdal. 3. Estimate of community members who actively engaged with and were photographed by the artist through review of photographs. 4. Historical fact that the project was shown on May 12th, 2016 at the Malung Community Center in Roseau, Minnesota as multimedia presentation and open-to-the-public artist talk.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Lindquist will produce “What Once Was Is Now,” to remind us of the legacy of historic immigration by illuminating a slowly vanishing web of ethnic relations that continue to connect Minnesota with communities abroad. This multimedia video will be presented along with an artist talk at Malung Community Center in Roseau.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Ariana Lindquist
(646) 961-8925
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Sara Belleau: Writer and photographer; Anna Eveslage: Photographer; Mark Jensen: Fine art photographer, founder and director of the Knife River Photography Workshops; Brett Kallusky: Visiting assistant professor, University of Wisconsin-River Falls Art Department, photography; Anthony Marchetti: Photographer, instructor; Terra Rathai: Artist and photographer, historian of 19th and 20th century western art and popular culture; Ellen Skoro: Digital photographer, Goldstein Museum of Design; Sarah Whiting: Commercial photographer, instructor at the Arts Institutes International Minnesota
Conflict of Interest Disclosed