Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Arnold D. Lillo AKA Arnie Lillo
Recipient Type
In Progress
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
February 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

I will expand my artistic subject matter by creating designs that interest the whole community and educate children through this piece of public art. I will save the designs and information gained from this project to my programming system – PlasmaCam, PCM format. The techniques, information and ideas I learn here will be reflected in future artworks. 2: I will be able to share my artwork with Southern Minnesotan families in an everyday, public, and widely visited setting. CMSM will compile audience attendance figures and collect comments about the fence. A comments collection box will be located at the fence for visitors to write and submit their feedback, which will be recorded and made into a Wordle word cloud.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Lillo will design and fabricate an art fence for the public parklet on the grounds of the Children’s Museum of Southern Minnesota in Mankato. The cut out metal panels will make it fun to explore technology, agriculture, and art. An opening event and artist talk will be held when the fence is installed.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Arnold D. Lillo AKA Arnie Lillo
(507) 278-3671
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Brenda Brousseau: Visual artist, app developer and software company owner; Laddavanh Insixiengmay: Lao weaving artist and designer, cofounder of Lao Cultural Center, founder of SihnNaChampa Dance Theatre; Leann Johnson: Graphic designer, illustrator and ceramic tile artist; Stephen Klassen: Twin Cities sculptor and painter working primarily with wood; Kristin Makholm: Executive director, Minnesota Museum of American Art; Edie Overturf: Cofounder, LegUp Studio, visiting assistant professor of printmaking, University of Minnesota Twin Cities; Emily Stover: Visual artist and designer, adjunct instructor in design at University of Minnesota; Delina White: Folk and traditional artist from Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe
Conflict of Interest Disclosed