Minnesota's Legacy

Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
John G. Larson
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
April 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Yellow Medicine
Lac qui Parle
Yellow Medicine
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

I will refine my sculpture, expand and diversify my viewing audience, and develop a new means of communicating my artistic mission by the spring of 2016. The completion of a new body of sculpture, success in photographing and completion of the artist book and completion of public lecture is the benchmark by which the success of this project will be measured.

Measurable Outcome(s)

John made sixteen new sculptures, purchased an electric kiln, created an artist’s book and presented this project at a public lecture held in Montevideo, Minnesota. The evaluation methods used to determine the success of John Larson's Artist Initiative grant were the completion of an artist’s book and the completion of a public lecture. He views the completed book as successful in describing his process and showcasing the resulting work. Larson held a public event that was reasonably attended and provided the opportunity to share this project with his community.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Larson will create a series of large scale ceramic sculptures that use native clay while he also explores a new method of construction. He will present a public lecture that describes the new work at the Carnegie Library in Montevideo.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
John G. Larson
(612) 590-5812
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Marion Angelica: Ceramic artist, former director of Metropolitan Regional Arts Council; Brian Frink: Visual artist, professor of painting and drawing, chair, art department, Minnesota State University, Mankato; Maren Kloppmann: Ceramic sculptor; Qian Liu: Ceramics and sculpture artist; Stephen Shaskan: Author, illustrator and Loft Literary Center teaching artist; Don Sherman: Artist, educator, photographer, mentors program coordinator, Southwest Minnesota State University College
Conflict of Interest Disclosed