Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Joan B. Iron Moccasin
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
May 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Mille Lacs
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

An exhibit of new work in the Student Life Building at North Hennepin Community College as a cultural event for students, faculty and visitors. I will be successful if the work is completed, framed, displayed and seen by the public at North Hennepin Community College.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Iron Moccasin created twelve new works of mixed media prints and exhibited them at North Hennepin Community College in Brooklyn Center during the spring and summer of 2016. Both qualitative and quantitative measures were used to evaluate the outcome of this project. Twelve new prints using captured cell imagery were completed, framed, and exhibited in the Student Life Building at North Hennepin Community College. People were asked to sign in when they came to the TRIO campus center. There was written and verbal feedback about the project, as well as observations, by the Director of TRIO Programs, of visitor's reactions to the ongoing exhibit.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Iron Moccasin will create a new body of work merging art and science by incorporating stained cell imagery into a series of mixed media prints. This new work will be exhibited at North Hennepin Community College.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Iron Moccasin
Organization Name
Joan B. Iron Moccasin
(763) 785-1255
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Moira Bateman: Contemporary visual artist, utilizing mixed media and fiber to create sculptural and site-specific art; Elizabeth Devine: Jewelry designer and lettering artist, Southeastern Minnesota Visual Artists co-op board member; Justine Di Fiore: Hospital worker and visual artist; Andrew Maus: Executive Director, Minnesota Marine Art Museum, Winona; Daniel Mondloch: Painter, muralist, and art teacher; Asako Nakauchi: Sculptor and installation artist, instructor, University of Wisconsin-River Falls; Jessica Shaykett: Librarian, American Craft Council; Frederick Somers: Award-winning pastel artist and painter, art instructor; Liza Sylvestre: Visual artist and educator
Conflict of Interest Disclosed