Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Peter M. Happel Christian
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
December 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

One measureable outcome of my project is to better engage with my local community in Saint Cloud. I will evaluate this outcome by holding a cycle of exhibitions in my studio space where I will collect visitor contact info and provide viewers with a free visual catalog of works in progress.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Through his project, Infinite Field, Peter Happel Christian successfully engaged with his local community and enriched the cultural capital of Saint Cloud. Evaluation methods included a head count of visitors during each of the three events and the voluntary collection of the names and email addresses of patrons. Additionally, interactions between the artist and visitors lead to new professional relationships and the generation of collaborative projects.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Happel Christian will create Infinite Field, a series of photographic works that draw on the themes of landscape, time, and perception through the use of a Saint Cloud studio space as a study center, production space, and exhibition venue.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Happel Christian
Organization Name
Peter M. Happel Christian
(320) 310-1505
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
David Bowman: Photographer, full member, National Geographic Creative; Donald Clark: Professor of photography, Minnesota State University Moorhead; John Gregor: Photographer and photo educator; Ellen Kingsbury: Photographer; Laura Migliorino: Photographer, professor of art, Anoka Ramsey Community College; Jeffrey Millikan: Photographer, adjunct professor of photography, University of Minnesota; Vivienne Morgan: Photographer, adjunct professor at Bemidji State University; Margaret Ojala: Photographer and Professor of Art, St Olaf College.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed