Minnesota's Legacy

Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Emma C. Cook
Recipient Type
Start Date
January 2015
End Date
January 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Creating a new body of work to further promote the use of classical realism while facilitating a contemporary narrative. The project will result in a new body of painting and drawings. Creating a new body of work and having the ability to afford material and given the space would be a huge milestone in facilitating post education productivity.

Measurable Outcome(s)

An exhibition controlled by classical technique but articulated through conceptual, contemporary hands and minds. With creating the work alongside a fellow grantee, I found that this community aspect was fruitful for my development. Austin Swearengin is a sculptor that is a formalist in a sense though his work is comfortably places in a conceptual realm. Thus creating a language between the two styles of work only furthering the dialog of contemporary vs. classical. Also by working together we were able to accomplish more with the doubling up of materials and the utilization of combined income for press, construction etc.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Cook will create a new body of work to promote the use of classical realism while facilitating a contemporary narrative that will result in a new body of paintings and drawings. The new work will be exhibited at two Minneapolis galleries, Detroit and SooLocal.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Emma C. Cook
(952) 258-3108
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Moira Bateman: Contemporary visual artist, utilizing mixed media and fiber to create sculptural and site-specific art; Elizabeth Devine: Jewelry designer and lettering artist, Southeastern Minnesota Visual Artists co-op board member; Justine Di Fiore: Hospital worker and visual artist; Andrew Maus: Executive Director, Minnesota Marine Art Museum, Winona; Daniel Mondloch: Painter, muralist, and art teacher; Asako Nakauchi: Sculptor and installation artist, instructor, University of Wisconsin-River Falls; Jessica Shaykett: Librarian, American Craft Council; Frederick Somers: Award-winning pastel artist and painter, art instructor; Liza Sylvestre: Visual artist and educator
Conflict of Interest Disclosed