Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Jennifer L. Ackerman AKA Jenn Ackerman
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2015
End Date
February 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Mille Lacs
Mille Lacs
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Ackerman will photograph the second portion of her project, Frozen, from the air, documenting the people and places in Minnesota in ten locations. The images will be presented in February 2016 in an outdoor popup gallery at a Twin Cities winter festival.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Rebecca Davis-Lee: Touring pianist, piano and music theory teacher; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthropist.; Sean Dowse, Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies, Treasurer, Minnesota State Arts Board.; David Glenn: Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
David Bowman: Photographer, full member, National Geographic Creative; Donald Clark: Professor of photography, Minnesota State University Moorhead; John Gregor: Photographer and photo educator; Ellen Kingsbury: Photographer; Laura Migliorino: Photographer, professor of art, Anoka Ramsey Community College; Jeffrey Millikan: Photographer, adjunct professor of photography, University of Minnesota; Vivienne Morgan: Photographer, adjunct professor at Bemidji State University; Margaret Ojala: Photographer and Professor of Art, St Olaf College.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Executive director Sue Gens (651) 215-1600
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Jenn Ackerman will photograph landscapes from above, a new approach for her photography. The images on display will be evaluated for their quality and ability to communicate the artist's unique perspective on Minnesota winter culture. 2: The images will be presented to the public in a pop gallery outside. The popup gallery will be open to the public and can be evaluated by the quality of the prints presented at the outside venues in winter.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Jenn Ackerman was able to explore with her camera from a different angle. She was able to exhibit the work on a frozen lake. Personal and artist growth. 2: People were able to see the work exhibited in a nontraditional format. The number of people and quality of work presented.

Description of Funds
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Jennifer L. Ackerman AKA Jenn Ackerman
(612) 293-7175
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency