Artist Initiative

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Gwen N. Westerman Wasicuna AKA Gwen Westerman
Recipient Type
Start Date
March 2014
End Date
February 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Blue Earth
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Create new works that represent traditional Dakota stories and values that engage viewers in Dakota culture and history; expand my professional skills. New works will be completed and presented in a regional exhibit and/or on a new website and blog. The works will include new patterns and designs created during the grant period. 2: Develop a website and active blog that will help promote my art. With the help of a web developer/media specialist, a new website will be online and will include an active blog. My work will be accessible to Minnesotans through the website.

Measurable Outcome(s)

She created six new quilts around the themes of water, stone, and stories from her Dakota culture and background. 2: A new website was created to showcase her artwork and blog which will allow more Minnesotans to become familiar with traditional and contemporary Dakota art forms.

Description of Funds
Project Overview
Artist Initiative
Project Details
Westerman will create six new quilts around the themes of water, stone, and perception as evidenced in Dakota culture; she will exhibit the work in a variety of Minnesota locations.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Westerman Wasicuna
Organization Name
Gwen N. Westerman Wasicuna AKA Gwen Westerman
(507) 278-3780
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ardell Brede: Mayor of Rochester, elected 2002.; Peggy Burnet: Businesswoman, art collector, and community volunteer. Chair of the Nominating Committee, Smithsonian National Board. Trustee, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Michael Charron: Dean of the School of the Arts, Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota. Vice Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Wendy Dayton: Arts and community leader and philanthopist.; Sean Dowse: Executive director, Sheldon Theatre. Board member for Minnesota Music Coalition, Minnesota Citizens for the Arts, and Anderson Center for Interdisciplinary Studies.; David Glenn, Executive director of the Minnesota Project, ceramic artist; Benjamin Klipfel: Board member, Minnesota State Arts Board. Executive Director, Alexandria Area Arts Association, Inc. Director and arts educator.; Ellen McInnis: Director of Twin Cities government relations, Wells Fargo. Member of Bottineau Boulevard Partnership. Chair, Minnesota State Arts Board.; Thomas Moss: Consultant to nonprofits and government agencies; Janice Sivertson: Gallery owner and visual artist; Anton Treuer: Professor of Ojibwe, Bemidji State University.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Marion Angelica: Ceramic artist; former director of Metropolitan Regional Arts Council; Amy Cass: Professional ceramicist.; Anne Dugan: Arts administrator, visual arts, festival coordinator, new media arts; Paige Guggemos: Freelance graphic and Web designer; printmaker; Lindsay Kandler: Freelance graphic, textile and apparel designer.; Katrina Knutson: Working Artist, Freelance Educator, and Community Organizer; Margaret Pezalla-Granlund: Artist and Curator of Library Art and Exhibitions, Carleton College
Conflict of Interest Disclosed