Artist Fellowship

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Leah H. Yellowbird
Recipient Type
In Progress
Start Date
July 2016
End Date
March 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1) To research traditional Native medicines - preparing written information of the plant name and its uses. 2) To create 10-15 paintings of the medicinal plants. 3) To create a traveling exhibit of paintings and narrative for at least three shows. 4) To create a book/coloring book that can be used with school-age children to teach about medicinal plants. 5) To provide information about the exhibit to the public via website and other social media. Evaluation will be based on: 1. Number of Elders contacted and stories collected. 2. Number of paintings created. 3. Number of exhibits and people attending. 4. Number of children/adults reached through coloring books, social media, and website. 5. Written surveys to all public viewing the instillation, including a section for comments about how they would/could incorporate the use in their daily lives.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Artist Fellowship
Project Details
Traditional Ojibwe Healing Medicine. This project will collect stories from Elders about traditional medicines and uses for healing. Paintings of the medicines, along with narratives will become a traveling exhibit.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Leah H. Yellowbird
(218) 340-9672
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Ken Bloom: Director of Tweed Museum of Art, University of Minnesota-Duluth; Janeen Carey: vocalist, retired Hibbing Community College librarian and information media specialist; Kate Fitzgerald: Program Director for North Shore Music Association, writer; David Beard: Assistant Professor of writing studies, University of Minnesota-Duluth; Adam Guggemos: graphic designer, art events promoter; Michelle Ronning: jewelry designer and maker; John Gregor: photographer, art educator, community art advocate; Ann Russ: music performer, community song leader, choir director, workshop leader, past director and founder of North Shore Music Association; Tara Makinen: Executive Director of Itasca Orchestra and Strings, musician; Dana Mattice: Development and Communications Director of The Art Institute Duluth; Moira Villiard: visual artist and student of arts and communication at University of Wisconsin-Superior; Jeanne Doty: Retired Associate Professor of music, University of Minnesota-Duluth, pianist; Candace LaCosse: North House Folk School instructor, leatherwork designer and crafter.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Ken Bloom: Board member; Erik Redix: Professor of Native Studies, University of Minnesota-Duluth; Karen Savage-Blue: visual artist; Christian McShane: musician; Amy Sharpe: fine craft, literature; Veda Zuponcic: musician.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed