Artist Assistance

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Jill R. Krase
Recipient Type
Start Date
September 2014
End Date
September 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2015 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Holding arts events in smaller towns like Winona provides a way for people here to participate in the arts without having to travel, which is difficult or impossible for some.I will count attendance at capstones. I will document progress on Facebook and encourage comments on posts. I will interview five attendees to measure the level of success they believe I achieved with the above measures.

Measurable Outcome(s)

This project accomplished the goal of providing access to the book arts for Winona County residents without having to travel to Minneapolis and the goal of raising the types of art opportunities in the region by including book arts as a type of art that is rarely on display outside metro areas.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Artist Assistance
Project Details
Experiments in Structure: Bookbinding as Art, at Winona Arts Center
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Jill R. Krase
(507) 450-1231
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kjel Alkire: art faculty at Winona State University; Hal Cropp: Executive Director of Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Executive Director of Words Players; Julie Fakler: education coordinator at Paradise Center for the Arts; Drue Fergison: linguist, writer; Larry Gorrell: former dean of Saint Mary's University; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board member; Connie Nelson: music educator; Jane Olive: costumer; Scott Roberts: arts administrator; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: musician, arts administrator.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Andrea Gaffke: artist; Judy Hickey: arts administrator; David Kassler: composer; Marie Maher: musician; Mary Ruth: Kathy Rush: thespian; Jon Swanson: curator; Philip Taylor: artist; Sandy Thompson: arts administrator; Emily Urness: writer; Tom Willis: potter.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed