Minnesota's Legacy

Artist Assistance

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Robbie Brokken
Recipient Type
Start Date
December 2012
End Date
June 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

My target population will be inspired to remember those that came before them and the impact those people had on the community and on the women who will come after them. It will also impact the target population to consider passing on the artifacts they have to their children.I will measure the number of attendees to my exhibit and the reaction of those who view it. The goals of my project will be met if I can inspire the viewers to remember the women that came before and that the tokens of love still have meaning for the next generation of daughters.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Many more people attended the capstone than I had expected. I was asked to sell the pieces, which I am giving to each recipient. The projected inspired several other communities to look at a project like this for history museums. I have had quite a few special orders.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Project Overview
Artist Assistance
Project Details
Wearable adornment from keepsake jewelry.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Robbie Brokken
(507) 467-2446
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Hal Cropp: Commonweal Theatre; Daved Driscoll: Northland Words; Drue Fergison: musicologist; Ryan Heinritz: Paradise Center; Teresa Kauffmann: photographer; Paula Michel: Harmony Arts Board; Connie Nelson: music educator; Judy Saye-Willis: fiber artist; Steve Schmidt: City of Rochester Music Department; Deborah Wasmund: mosaic artist.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Marta Biitner: visual artist; Alan Calavano: musician, historian; Daniel Freeman: actor; Carolyn Hiller: arts administrator; William Hoy: literary artist; Katie Leo: playwright; Jane Olive: dancer; Kathy Rush: theatre; Tom Willis: potter.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed