Art Project Legacy

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Litchfield Community Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2013
End Date
September 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1. Increase performers from an average of 48 per show to 90. 2. Increase behind the scenes support staff from average of 65 to 100. 3. Increase adult attendance from an average of 724 to 1600. 4. Increase youth attendance from an average of 483 to 1025. 5. Increase the geographical area performers and behind the scenes support staff come from. Intangible Goals: 1. Promote first-time theater experiences for children who may have never seen a live play. 2. Allow attendees to experience a new, non-traditional theater performance. 3. Develop new skills for theater including make-up, sets, and props. 4. Create a sense of accomplishment and commitment in the individuals involved with the production. 5. Gauge the theater community’s appetite for something new versus the traditional musicals done in past productions.Litchfield Community Theatre will track data for the tangible goals. Intangible goals have no data that can be tracked. Other than the court of public opinion, the significance of intangible goals will be the upcoming season’s attendance, performers, and support staff. Tangible Goals: By September 2013, Shrek the Musical Project will have the following data: 1. The number of performers in comparison to previous musicals. 2. The number of behind the scenes support staff in comparison to previous musicals. 3. The number of adult ticket sales. 4. The number of youth ticket sales. 5. The diversity of the zip codes of the performers and the behind the scenes support staff. An Excel Spread Sheet which is attached will act as our evaluation tool.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Number of performers was 75; Behind the scenes support staff was 105; Adult attendance was 1,590; Children attendance was 856; Geographical area of performers previously were from Meeker County. This show saw participation from Meeker, McLeod, Kandiyohi, and Wright Counties.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Paul Lundhorst, Jane Lind, Jim Vrchota, Bob Lawerence, Ed Cowley,Shawn Hansen, Michael Joldersma, Marcia Provencher, Julie Ross, Erikka Weires
Project Overview
Art Project Legacy
Project Details
Litchfield Community Theatre, Inc. presents Shrek the Musical.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Litchfield Community Theatre
Street Address
114 W Ripley St
Zip Code
(320) 693-3255
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: visual artist, president of Big Stone County Arts Council; Jane Link: visual artist, board member of Milan Village Arts School, and Milan Community Education, and Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, certified clinical musician, founder and coordinator of Rhythm of the River music/art festival; Randy Meyer; visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, multidisciplinary curriculum developer, board member of Lincoln County Pioneer Museum; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players, former clogger; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, participant in community theater productions, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Emily Olson; musician, writing instructor; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, Arts Meander planning committee, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member for Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, Art Rocks planning committee; Sydney Massee: visual artist, quilter, behind the scenes assistant in theatre productions, board member of Lac qui Parle Valley School District; Audrey Fuller: writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mark Bosveld: directed high school plays, musicals and community theater, former board member of Friends of the Orchestra, board member of Prairie Dance Alliance; Craig Edwards: potter, past board member for Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council, founder of New London Art Center, member of Kaleidoscope Artist Cooperative; Roberta Trooien: musician, professor, author; Jean Replinger: professor at Southwest Minnesota State University, professional musician, editor, board member for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Beth Habicht: artist, retired orchestra teacher, member of the Great Plains String Quartet, steering committee and founding member of Worthington Area Symphony Orchestra; Christa Otteson: arts advocate, regional coordinator Minnesota Council for NonprofitsÆ central region; Kathy Fransen: musician, certified clinical musician, founder and coordinator of Rhythm of the River music/art festival; Randy Meyer; visual artist and farmer, former art teacher.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed