Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project Legacy

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Willmar Area Arts Council
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2017
End Date
October 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

We believe this project will contribute to instilling the arts into the community and public life in our region. We expect people will be surprised, pleased, and proud to have these in their city. At the reception we will have a survey for guests to fill out. On the website we will ask people to click a link to complete a short survey. That link will take them to one of the free on-line survey sites (yet to be chosen) on which they will be asked a few questions. We don't want it to be cumbersome or time consuming, we basically want to measure the interest in the project. We also plan to promote this heavily on Facebook, so we will be able to follow "likes" and comments. As each wrap is installed, we will post a picture of it, hopefully with the artist standing by it. Board members will be charged with talking about the project and listening for reactions which they will report back at monthly board meetings.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Judging from the written and verbal responses, we believe we accomplished our goal of instilling the arts into the community and public life in our region.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Matt Stark, Karin Gilbertson, Paulette Korsmo, Nancy Carlson, Doris Cogelow, Violet Dauk, Judy Foley, Kelsey Olson, Jacki Orson, Bea Ourada, Phil Scheevel
Project Overview

Art Project Legacy

Project Details

Traffic Signal Boxes

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Willmar Area Arts Council
Street Address
PO Box 165
Zip Code
(320) 235-8560
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwestern Minnesota State University Associate Director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Tom Wirt: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Nicole DeBoer (507) 537-1471