Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Willmar Area Arts Council
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2012
End Date
January 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1. To bring artists and the public together to exchange ideas and promote understanding and appreciation for visual art. 2. To have an average of at least 50 people attending each of the six receptions we host. 3. To reach a new audience of people who have not attended an art event before. 4. To have the exhibiting artist find the experience rewarding both personally and professionally.We have a guest book for visitors to sign throughout the month and at the receptions. However, we have found that many people do not sign the guest book, so board and committee members attend the receptions and circulate among the attendees to get comments. We also keep track of the number of cups used, the amount of food served, etc. to estimate the number of attendees. We talk with the artist after the exhibit to get her/his feedback on the experience.

Measurable Outcome(s)

By meeting as a committee to select the artists to invite to exhibit, we became aware of the great amount of talent in the region. We worked cooperatively to host the receptions for each exhibit. The exhibits gave us good visibility in the community. The

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Janet Olney, Kristin Allen, Cheri Buzzeo, Violet Dauk, Ruth Fairchild, Connie Feig, David Korsmo, Gayle Martens, Susan Mattson, Bea Ourada, Keith Peterson, Darrel Schuetze, Jeff Vetsch, Doug Wilkowske
Project Overview
2012 Gallery Exhibitions
Project Details
2012 Gallery Exhibitions.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Willmar Area Arts Council
Street Address
1107 Par Ln
Zip Code
(320) 235-1087
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee; Cheri Buzzeo: production manager, Willmar Community Theatre, board member at Willmar Area Arts Council; Luanne Fondell: musician, coordinator for Dawson Boyd Arts Association, former board member at Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council; Mary Jane Mardesen: author, theater director, speech/theater/English instructor at Minnesota West Community and Technical College; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Verna Patrick: retired music educator, member of the Willmar Area Symphony Orchestra and Pens and Brushes writing club; Ron Porep: coordinator, Milan Village Arts School.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: artist, project manager for Art Meander, Vice President of Big Stone Arts Council; Paul Grupe: instrumental and vocal teacher at Jackson County Schools, theater/musical director at Jackson County Arts Guilds; Jane Link: artist, board member at Milan Village Arts School and the Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: former K-12 art teacher, co owner of First Floral-Hallmark, hand bell choir member; Connie Feig: board member at the Willmar Area Arts Council and Minnesota Gerontological Society; Paula Nemes: Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company, musician, community theater participant, Lyon County arts organizations activist; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Susan Marco: author, English and creative writing teacher at Dassel-Cokato High School, Fine Arts Committee member at Dassel-Cokato Public Schools; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member at the Prairie Music Association and the Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired teacher of language arts, literary arts activist, coach, and event organizer, board member at the Historic Dayton House, liberal arts advisory board member at Minnesota West Community College; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, author, community theater participant, adjunct instructor of English at Southwest Minnesota State University, art instructor for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, planning committee member for Meander - Upper Minnesota River Valley Art Crawl, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member of Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, planning committee member for Art Rocks in Luverne, owner of Playing in the Mud Studio, arts festival organizer; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Patricia Enger: visual artist, musician, gallery technician and curator for the William Whipple Gallery at Southwest Minnesota State University, exhibit curator for Fallen Angel Gallery; Randy Meyer: artist, farmer, art teacher for local and home schools, treasurer for the First Lutheran Church, board member for Lac qui Parle Mutual Insurance Company; Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed