Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Hutchinson Parks and Recreation
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
July 2012
End Date
November 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
River Walk Public Arts Day
Project Details
River Walk Public Arts Day.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee; Cheri Buzzeo: production manager, Willmar Community Theatre, board member at Willmar Area Arts Council; Luanne Fondell: musician, coordinator for Dawson Boyd Arts Association, former board member at Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council; Mary Jane Mardesen: author, theater director, speech/theater/English instructor at Minnesota West Community and Technical College; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Verna Patrick: retired music educator, member of the Willmar Area Symphony Orchestra and Pens and Brushes writing club; Ron Porep: coordinator, Milan Village Arts School.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: artist, project manager for Art Meander, Vice President of Big Stone Arts Council; Paul Grupe: instrumental and vocal teacher at Jackson County Schools, theater/musical director at Jackson County Arts Guilds; Jane Link: artist, board member at Milan Village Arts School and the Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: former K-12 art teacher, co owner of First Floral-Hallmark, hand bell choir member; Connie Feig: board member at the Willmar Area Arts Council and Minnesota Gerontological Society; Paula Nemes: Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company, musician, community theater participant, Lyon County arts organizations activist; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Susan Marco: author, English and creative writing teacher at Dassel-Cokato High School, Fine Arts Committee member at Dassel-Cokato Public Schools; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member at the Prairie Music Association and the Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired teacher of language arts, literary arts activist, coach, and event organizer, board member at the Historic Dayton House, liberal arts advisory board member at Minnesota West Community College; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, author, community theater participant, adjunct instructor of English at Southwest Minnesota State University, art instructor for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, planning committee member for Meander - Upper Minnesota River Valley Art Crawl, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member of Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, planning committee member for Art Rocks in Luverne, owner of Playing in the Mud Studio, arts festival organizer; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Patricia Enger: visual artist, musician, gallery technician and curator for the William Whipple Gallery at Southwest Minnesota State University, exhibit curator for Fallen Angel Gallery; Randy Meyer: artist, farmer, art teacher for local and home schools, treasurer for the First Lutheran Church, board member for Lac qui Parle Mutual Insurance Company; Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The program aims to stimulate thought and provoke exchanges amongst residents on the subject of art. We hope to increase participation in events at the Arts Center by reaching members of the community on Public Arts Day who didn't believe they had any artistic talents, or didn't think they even enjoyed creating art. We hope to encourage parents to create art together with their children, which we will see the results of if our family day class attendance increases. We also aim to broaden the public's acceptance of public art installations thus encouraging them to be more accepting of projects planned by the Public Art Commission.We will measure the success of Public Arts Day by the following methods: 1. When the Public Arts Commission announces their planned sculpture park we will measure negative vs. positive comments from the public. 2. Number of photos submitted by attendees for the website quilt." 3. Measure if Center class attendance rises. 4. Track the number of hits on the Hutchinson Center for the Arts website the following week. 5. Track the number of comments and views on the Hutchinson Center for the Arts' Facebook page. 6. We will ask attendees at the event to complete a survey regarding their views of public art, the arts center and Public Art Commission."

Measurable Outcome(s)

The variety of art mediums present was wonderful. The people who attended were very diverse cross-section of the residents of Hutchinson. The frequent comments heard during the day, showed a great exposure and appreciation for the unique hands-on arts act

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Lena Mowlem, Joshua Schroeder, Buzz Burich, joey Wilmert, Audrey Hollatz, Terry Kemfert, mary Christensen, Dolf Moon, Dan Jochum
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Hutchinson Parks and Recreation
Street Address
900 Harrington St SW
Zip Code
(320) 587-2975
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency