Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Blue Mound Area Theatre
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2012
End Date
January 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Holiday Jam - A Christmas Concert
Project Details
Holiday Jam - A Christmas Concert.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Audrey Fuller: writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer; Maggie Harp: musician, music teacher, active in New London arts and theatre community; Barb Nelson: art teacher, vocal musician, Children's theatre director; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of the Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Mark Wilmes: actor, singer, director, president of Lake Benton Opera House.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: visual artist, president of Big Stone County Arts Council; Jane Link: visual artist, board member of Milan Village Arts School, and Milan Community Education, and Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Connie Feig: arts advocate, board member of the Barn Theater and Willmar Area Arts Council; Randy Meyer: visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, multidisciplinary curriculum developer, board member of Lincoln County Pioneer Museum; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players, former clogger; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, participant in community theater productions, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, Arts Meander planning committee, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member for Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, Art Rocks planning committee; Sydney Massee: visual artist, quilter, behind the scenes assistant in theatre productions, board member of Lac qui Parle Valley School District.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Drawing people from the community and beyond into the theatre who have not previously participated in a live professional performance. We would also like to have a positive financial outcome from the event so we can continue to offer high quality events to our community.We will incorporate into the program recognition for people who are attending a live performance for the first time. We will also use ticket sales as a measure of the success of this program.

Measurable Outcome(s)

1) We realized a profit of $3,168, after expenses and grants. 2) There was a double encore request at the end of the performance. 3) The entire lobby area was jammed with people walking around during intermission and spilling over into the theater entrance area. The band sold out of several of their promotional merchandise items. People stayed around after the concert for almost an hour, complicating theater clean-up efforts. 4) Each board member working interviewed at least 2 audience members using the questions in our audience evaluation. We learned that the performance exceeded expectations. Most audience members had previously attended other events at the Palace. People were asked how they heard of the event, with identification of our 5 mediums, radio, newspaper, posters, Facebook and Word of Mouth. Most people identified 3 of these sources, with the selections being just about equally divided. Everyone queried reported planning to return to another event at the Palace. The age distribution of the audience was on the older range of the distribution. We were able to query 1 student, 3 young adults, 10 middle age, and 15 seniors.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Pat Baustian, Lynette Hoiland, Bob Dorn, Mike Elbers, Keith Erickson, Betty Mann, Colleen Nath, Dianne Ossenfort, Heidi Sehr, Bill Thompson, Carolyn Thorson, LaDonna VanAartsen, Verlyn Van Batavia, Jim Juhl, Louella Voigt
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Blue Mound Area Theatre
Street Address
492 120th Ave
Zip Code
(507) 283-9237
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency