Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
RiverSong Music Festival
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2011
End Date
October 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
RiverSong Music Festival
Project Details
2012 RiverSong Music Festival.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Mark Boseveld: theater director, board member of Friends of the Orchestra and Prairie Dance Alliance; Bob Dorlac: visual artist, professor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Craig Edwards: potter, founder of New London Art Center, member of Kaleidoscope Artist Cooperative; Roberta Trooien: musician, author, professor of composition and literature, choir director; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Paul Grupe: instrumental and vocal teacher at Jackson County Schools, theater/musical director at Jackson County Arts Guilds.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: artist, project manager for Art Meander, Vice President of Big Stone Arts Council; Paul Grupe: instrumental and vocal teacher at Jackson County Schools, theater/musical director at Jackson County Arts Guilds; Jane Link: artist, board member at Milan Village Arts School and the Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: former K-12 art teacher, co owner of First Floral-Hallmark, hand bell choir member; Connie Feig: board member at the Willmar Area Arts Council and Minnesota Gerontological Society; Paula Nemes: Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company, musician, community theater participant, Lyon County arts organizations activist; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Susan Marco: author, English and creative writing teacher at Dassel-Cokato High School, Fine Arts Committee member at Dassel-Cokato Public Schools; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member at the Prairie Music Association and the Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired teacher of language arts, literary arts activist, coach, and event organizer, board member at the Historic Dayton House, liberal arts advisory board member at Minnesota West Community College; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, author, community theater participant, adjunct instructor of English at Southwest Minnesota State University, art instructor for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, planning committee member for Meander - Upper Minnesota River Valley Art Crawl, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member of Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, planning committee member for Art Rocks in Luverne, owner of Playing in the Mud Studio, arts festival organizer; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Patricia Enger: visual artist, musician, gallery technician and curator for the William Whipple Gallery at Southwest Minnesota State University, exhibit curator for Fallen Angel Gallery.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The goals of RiverSong are to provide a venue for local musicians and artists to share their talents through performance, education and exhibition; to make accessible a diverse mix of music from local, regional and national talent; to encourage family attendance that would not otherwise be locally offered; to grow the ticket attendance from 1400 to 2800 and ticket sales of $22,300. Creating a positive guest experience and increasing attendance to RiverSong will ensure guests: associate their positive experience as being created by the arts/artists, are exposed to a wide variety of music and art forms, are encouraged to study music and/or art at a time when school arts funds are being cut, are exposed to local and regional artisans, making them more marketable, realize the value that local art initiative groups contribute, such that they are able to increase membership, volunteerism and community support to attend art-related classes and events and volunteers will have added capacity, aiding the future sustainability of RiverSong. The Hutchinson community and guests will have increased exposure and appreciation of the area's art talents and resources. Area schools and students will also be supported by providing a venue for art education and experiences. RiverSong will draw attention to Hutchinson's assets and heighten Hutchinson's appeal as a destination for arts and quality performances. Finally, RiverSong will bring revenue to a business community that continues to suffer economic hardships.RiverSong committees will seek feedback from all volunteers, artists, vendors and guests through an on-site comment box and post-festival survey and review results. Each committee will also debrief to evaluate what went well and where there is room for improvement. The Steering Committee will review the festival to evaluate overall, including all committee details.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Festival strengths included committee volunteers, sponsors and community/civic leaders who believe that RiverSong is a beneficial project. Without their time, financial support and in-kind resources the festival would not be possible. With a rich musical

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Megan Peterson, Megan Grasmon, Betsy Price, Mark Hanneman, Jan Johnson, John Rodeberg, Laurie Vasko
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
RiverSong Music Festival
Street Address
PO Box 666
Zip Code
(320) 583-5140
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency