Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Big Stone Arts Council
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2012
End Date
September 2012
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Big Stone
Big Stone
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2012 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1. To have at least 10 Big Stone Arts Council local artists submit multiple images. 2. To have at least 5 non-Big Stone Arts Council members submit images. 3. To receive submissions that are creative, expressive and imaginative. 4. To create art awareness, art appreciation and community pride in the project.1 and 2 measured by receipt of art. 3. Determined by selection committee and consultants through critique of submissions and discussion. 4. Votes for community favorites will be tallied. Community will be surveyed when they visit the display at Cornfest about their impression of the art submissions and final four images chosen, whether they learned anything new about conceptual art, whether their understanding of public art has changed. The votes will also provide feedback on the quality of art. They will also be asked to rate their appreciation for street banners as art.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Local artists participated in a call for art, many for the first time, and four were paid for their art. The chosen art is seen and appreciated by many, many viewers. Area residents and visitors are exposed to a different type of public art. Residents and

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Liz Rackl, Kristi Delage, Rob Rakow, Deb Larson, Don Sherman, Neva Foster, Erlys Sis
Project Overview
"Art on the Streets"
Project Details
Street Banners "Art on the Streets."
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Big Stone Arts Council
Street Address
PO Box 41 61 Dahle Ave
Zip Code
(320) 487-1001
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee; Cheri Buzzeo: production manager, Willmar Community Theatre, board member at Willmar Area Arts Council; Luanne Fondell: musician, coordinator for Dawson Boyd Arts Association, former board member at Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council; Mary Jane Mardesen: author, theater director, speech/theater/English instructor at Minnesota West Community and Technical College; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Verna Patrick: retired music educator, member of the Willmar Area Symphony Orchestra and Pens and Brushes writing club; Ron Porep: coordinator, Milan Village Arts School.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: artist, project manager for Art Meander, Vice President of Big Stone Arts Council; Paul Grupe: instrumental and vocal teacher at Jackson County Schools, theater/musical director at Jackson County Arts Guilds; Jane Link: artist, board member at Milan Village Arts School and the Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: former K-12 art teacher, co owner of First Floral-Hallmark, hand bell choir member; Connie Feig: board member at the Willmar Area Arts Council and Minnesota Gerontological Society; Paula Nemes: Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company, musician, community theater participant, Lyon County arts organizations activist; Kurt Schulz: actor, writer, cofounder of the 4 Shadow Theatre Company, board member at Magnolia Musical Theatre Company; Susan Marco: author, English and creative writing teacher at Dassel-Cokato High School, Fine Arts Committee member at Dassel-Cokato Public Schools; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member at the Prairie Music Association and the Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired teacher of language arts, literary arts activist, coach, and event organizer, board member at the Historic Dayton House, liberal arts advisory board member at Minnesota West Community College; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, author, community theater participant, adjunct instructor of English at Southwest Minnesota State University, art instructor for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, planning committee member for Meander - Upper Minnesota River Valley Art Crawl, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member of Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, planning committee member for Art Rocks in Luverne, owner of Playing in the Mud Studio, arts festival organizer; Sydney Massee: artist, quilter, theatre assistant, community organization activist, board member for Lac qui Parle Valley Schools; Patricia Enger: visual artist, musician, gallery technician and curator for the William Whipple Gallery at Southwest Minnesota State University, exhibit curator for Fallen Angel Gallery; Randy Meyer: artist, farmer, art teacher for local and home schools, treasurer for the First Lutheran Church, board member for Lac qui Parle Mutual Insurance Company; Kate Aydin: Spanish instructor for 25 years, board member for the Lincoln County Pioneer Museum and Hendricks Community Foundation and Norwegian Heritage Committee.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed