Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
RiverSong Music Festival
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2012
End Date
October 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
RiverSong Music Festival 2013
Project Details
RiverSong Music Festival 2013.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Audrey Fuller: writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer; Maggie Harp: musician, music teacher, active in New London arts and theatre community; Barb Nelson: art teacher, vocal musician, Children's theatre director; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of the Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Mark Wilmes: actor, singer, director, president of Lake Benton Opera House.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: visual artist, president of Big Stone County Arts Council; Jane Link: visual artist, board member of Milan Village Arts School, and Milan Community Education, and Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Connie Feig: arts advocate, board member of the Barn Theater and Willmar Area Arts Council; Randy Meyer: visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, multidisciplinary curriculum developer, board member of Lincoln County Pioneer Museum; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players, former clogger; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, participant in community theater productions, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, Arts Meander planning committee, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member for Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, Art Rocks planning committee; Sydney Massee: visual artist, quilter, behind the scenes assistant in theatre productions, board member of Lac qui Parle Valley School District.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The goals of RiverSong are to: 1. Provide a venue for local musicians and artists to share their talents through performance, education and exhibition. 2. Make accessible a diverse mix of music from local, regional, and national talent. 3. Encourage family attendance that would not otherwise be locally offered. 4. Grow the ticket attendance to 2,000 and ticket sales of $29,000. 5. Create a succession plan for steering committee and subcommittees by May 2013.Comparing actual attendance to goal and actual income to budget will give an accurate evaluation of related goals. Conducting a survey of attendees to gather feedback on overall experience, with greater than 80 percent satisfaction, will indicate positive impact. Through this survey, we will also determine locations we are drawing from to see how well we are drawing local families. The succession plan should be completed in writing with an understanding of commitments from existing volunteers and list of prospects. One of the tools we will use for this planning is a participant planning tool that will help us determine what skills, connections, and perspectives will be needed in the group to set RiverSong up for success moving forward.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We retained 8 of 9 steering committee members for 2014. We had 24 returning sponsors and five new sponsors. We recruited 140 volunteers. We featured 18 high-quality, diverse artists.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Megan Peterson, Megan Grasmon, Betsy Price, Mark Hanneman, Jan Johnson, John Rodeberg, Laurie Vasko, Tom Wirt, Karen Grasmon
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
RiverSong Music Festival
Street Address
547 Miller Ave SW PO Box 667
Zip Code
(320) 583-5140
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency