Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Historic Hutchinson
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2012
End Date
January 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Sander Family Christmas
Project Details
Sander Family Christmas.
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Audrey Fuller: writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer; Maggie Harp: musician, music teacher, active in New London arts and theatre community; Barb Nelson: art teacher, vocal musician, Children's theatre director; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of the Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of the Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Mark Wilmes: actor, singer, director, president of Lake Benton Opera House.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: visual artist, president of Big Stone County Arts Council; Jane Link: visual artist, board member of Milan Village Arts School, and Milan Community Education, and Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Connie Feig: arts advocate, board member of the Barn Theater and Willmar Area Arts Council; Randy Meyer: visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, multidisciplinary curriculum developer, board member of Lincoln County Pioneer Museum; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players, former clogger; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, participant in community theater productions, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, Arts Meander planning committee, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member for Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, Art Rocks planning committee; Sydney Massee: visual artist, quilter, behind the scenes assistant in theatre productions, board member of Lac qui Parle Valley School District.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goal is to sell out the performances and to continue to reintroduce the historic Episcopal Church into the community as a viable arts venue.This goal is measured by the number of tickets sold and by the number of patrons unable to secure after the venue is sold out. This will help us determine the need (if any) to continue this musical series.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The production performances were all held at the Historic Church. This production was another Home Run for the arts in Hutchinson. Historic Hutchinson is emerging as the leader and conduit in the community between the arts community and the area's history. Using the arts to educate the audience while cementing the awareness of the historic assets of the community i.e. the Historic Church as a valuable arts venue. 100% of the guests were happy with the program. It was great to see the little church being used to serve the community; the guests are inquiring as to whether the third play in the Smoke Mountain series will be performed next year.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Joan Arndt, Shirley Wurdell, Mary Christensen, Robin Kashuba, Kay Voight, Jim Fahey
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Historic Hutchinson
Street Address
446 Main St S
Zip Code
(320) 583-8559
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency