Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Rhythm of the River
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2013
End Date
July 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1) To expose festival attendees to new music, singer/songwriters and styles of music which they have been unable to hear locally and (hopefully) cultivate an interest and appreciation in different types/forms of music. 2) Continue to increase the numbers of friends, families and visitors who attend this open, multi-generational festival which celebrates art and the natural beauty of the outdoors along the Des Moines River. 3) Increase financial stability which will allow the continuation of free admission to the event as well as future growth of the event. 4) The satisfaction of the performers/artists with the event and do they consider it to be a worthwhile use of their time and artistic ability.1) The first part of this goal will be determined by the final line-up of performers at the time of the event when all of the featured artists and smaller set performers have been hired. The second part of the goal will be evaluated both by input and comments from the public before and after the event, and also by a random survey conducted of the attendees during the event. 2) This goal will be evaluated by an attendee count using wrist bands each night of the event as they enter the main performance area. For those who choose not to enter the main area, but sit around the park, a non-scientific head count will be done periodically by the committee. 3) Much of the financial stability of the event is determined by the final numbers of the balance sheet at the end of the event. A survey of the major sponsors will also be done at some point after the event to gain feedback regarding this year's festival, and requesting their input as we look forward to future years. 4) After each performer is done, a committee member usually talks to them about their performance and settles up with payment. This year they will also be given a survey to fill out at their leisure and mail back to the committee.

Measurable Outcome(s)

1) Our lineup was varied in style and consisted of two larger name performers. Comments from surveys showed we have many returnees to the event and that the styles of music are appreciated. 2) While we did have many new attendees to the event, our overall numbers are still decreasing so this goal was not achieved. 3) We are seeing a downward trend in the financial support for our fundraisers and some of our sponsorship. This trend along with goal number 2 need to be addressed in the future. 4) Discussions with the artists during the event have been very positive and encouraging.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Bridget Kolander-Gilbert, Jeff Sauter, Mike Schwartz, Paul Jones, Deb Isaacson, Sharon Kuehl, Kathy Fransen, Gayle More, Hanna Fransen
Project Overview
Art Project Grant
Project Details
7th Annual Rhythm of the River.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Rhythm of the River
Street Address
PO Box 84
Zip Code
(507) 847-2589
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: visual artist, president of Big Stone County Arts Council; Jane Link: visual artist, board member of Milan Village Arts School, and Milan Community Education, and Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, certified clinical musician, founder and coordinator of Rhythm of the River music/art festival; Randy Meyer; visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, multidisciplinary curriculum developer, board member of Lincoln County Pioneer Museum; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players, former clogger; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, participant in community theater productions, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Emily Olson; musician, writing instructor; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, Arts Meander planning committee, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member for Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, Art Rocks planning committee; Sydney Massee: visual artist, quilter, behind the scenes assistant in theatre productions, board member of Lac qui Parle Valley School District; Audrey Fuller: writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mark Bosveld: directed high school plays, musicals and community theater, former board member of Friends of the Orchestra, board member of Prairie Dance Alliance; Craig Edwards: potter, past board member for Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council, founder of New London Art Center, member of Kaleidoscope Artist Cooperative; Roberta Trooien: musician, professor, author; Jean Replinger: professor at Southwest Minnesota State University, professional musician, editor, board member for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Beth Habicht: artist, retired orchestra teacher, member of the Great Plains String Quartet, steering committee and founding member of Worthington Area Symphony Orchestra; Christa Otteson: arts advocate, regional coordinator Minnesota Council for NonprofitsÆ central region; Kathy Fransen: musician, certified clinical musician, founder and coordinator of Rhythm of the River music/art festival; Randy Meyer; visual artist and farmer, former art teacher.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471