Art Project Grant

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Granite Falls Area Community Theater
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2013
End Date
August 2013
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Yellow Medicine
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2011, First Special Session, chapter 6, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2013 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Increase number of individuals involved compared to Guys and Dolls (which was 40). Increase number of hits on our new website (current average is 5 hits a day). This will expand knowledge of our organization's existence. Involve at least 20 students (who have not attended college yet).We will know how many people are involved by comparing our printed programs and rosters. We are able to track hits on our website by logging in. We will be able to track ages of participants because they will fill out an audition form.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We provided opportunity for youth and adults ranging in age from 6 to 75. We had experienced artists leading the show and experienced cast members including 21 adult artists participating. We sold 563 tickets which exceeded our expectations. Profited $1991 which will go to future productions. Some community members attended our show for the first time, while others were repeat attendees. Besides the activities offered at our high school, this is one of the few theatrical activities our community has the opportunity to attend. Community feedback was positive and helpful upon completion of the show.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Mary Virnig, Carrie Speh,Elaine Hauger, Kelly Nokleby, Kathy Anderson, Jarett Berg
Project Overview
Art Project Grant
Project Details
Summer Musical: The Sound of Music.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Granite Falls Area Community Theater
Street Address
155 Skyline Dr
Granite Falls
Zip Code
(320) 250-6743
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Deb Larson: visual artist, president of Big Stone County Arts Council; Jane Link: visual artist, board member of Milan Village Arts School, and Milan Community Education, and Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, certified clinical musician, founder and coordinator of Rhythm of the River music/art festival; Randy Meyer; visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, multidisciplinary curriculum developer, board member of Lincoln County Pioneer Museum; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players, former clogger; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Dan Wahl: visual artist, musician, participant in community theater productions, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Emily Olson; musician, writing instructor; Tamara Isfeld: visual artist, art teacher for Renville County West Schools, Arts Meander planning committee, board member at Granite Arts Council and Renville Friends of the Arts; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, treasurer of Rock County Fine Arts Association, board member for Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County, Art Rocks planning committee; Sydney Massee: visual artist, quilter, behind the scenes assistant in theatre productions, board member of Lac qui Parle Valley School District; Audrey Fuller: writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Mark Bosveld: directed high school plays, musicals and community theater, former board member of Friends of the Orchestra, board member of Prairie Dance Alliance; Craig Edwards: potter, past board member for Southwest Minnesota Arts and Humanities Council, founder of New London Art Center, member of Kaleidoscope Artist Cooperative; Roberta Trooien: musician, professor, author; Jean Replinger: professor at Southwest Minnesota State University, professional musician, editor, board member for the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Beth Habicht: artist, retired orchestra teacher, member of the Great Plains String Quartet, steering committee and founding member of Worthington Area Symphony Orchestra; Christa Otteson: arts advocate, regional coordinator Minnesota Council for NonprofitsÆ central region; Kathy Fransen: musician, certified clinical musician, founder and coordinator of Rhythm of the River music/art festival; Randy Meyer; visual artist and farmer, former art teacher.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed