Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Upper Minnesota River Valley Regional Development Commission AKA Meander Art Crawl
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
December 2013
End Date
December 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Big Stone
Lac qui Parle
Big Stone
Lac qui Parle
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Meander 2014: Upper Minnesota River Arts Crawl
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Jane Link: visual artist, Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Randy Meyer: visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America, Lincoln County Pioneer Museum board member; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board member; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board member; Audrey Fuller; writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Maggie Harp: musician, music teacher; Carol Purrington: retired English teacher, president of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board member; Kathy Schaefer: musician, photographer, Southwest Minnesota State University business professor; Bev Tellefsen: retired educator, Granite Arts Council board member; Mark Wilmes: president of Lake Benton Opera House, musician, theatre, journalist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Cultural Heritage

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

More Minnesotans, especially those in the Southwest Minnesota Region, will be able to participate in the arts.A passport survey is filled out by participants to gather information about the quality and experience of the event. An artist survey is filled out after the event by the artists reporting on economic benefits and number or participants. We will also keep track of the number of participants in this year's Meander.

Measurable Outcome(s)

$108,207 in art sales was reported during the Meander weekend, up from $90,874 the previous year. Individual studios reported from 97 up to 1400 visitors. Participants visited an average of 11 studios. 81% of visitors said the quality of the art and the overall experience was excellent.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Jo Pederson, Claire Swanson, Neva Foster, Andy Kahmann,Kristi Fernholz, Franz Richter, Celeste Suter, Deb Connelly, Darci Soine, Gene Sandau, Audrey Arner.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Upper Minnesota River Valley Regional Development Commission AKA Meander Art Crawl
Street Address
323 W Schlieman Ave
Zip Code
(320) 289-1981
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency