Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
RiverSong Music Festival
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2013
End Date
February 2015
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
RiverSong Music Festival 2014
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Jane Link: visual artist, Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Randy Meyer: visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America, Lincoln County Pioneer Museum board member; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board member; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board member; Audrey Fuller; writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Maggie Harp: musician, music teacher; Carol Purrington: retired English teacher, president of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board member; Kathy Schaefer: musician, photographer, Southwest Minnesota State University business professor; Bev Tellefsen: retired educator, Granite Arts Council board member; Mark Wilmes: president of Lake Benton Opera House, musician, theatre, journalist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

More Minnesotans, especially those in the Southwest Minnesota Region, will be able to participate in the arts.We will compare ticket sales with 2013 and track where people are coming from through sales outlet locations and online ticket sales. An on-site map activity will track more locations by including a visual pin-board map. At the information area or where most practical, we will assemble a map with pins so people can place where they are from. This tool will be useful and also a fun way to build excitement for RiverSong as people visually see the festival drawing fans from various locations. These evaluation methods will help us track location of people served as well as help us evaluate our marketing efforts. We will be able to track how location of bands, placed advertising and other promotional efforts impact attendee locations.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We successfully trained in two new committee co-chairs, part of our site and security and hospitality succession planning. We retained 7 of 10 steering committee members for 2015. We had 30 returning sponsors (from all previous years) and 6 new sponsors. We recruited 140 volunteers. We featured 16 high-quality, diverse artists. Planning retreated brought 45 people and helped us recruit 12 new committee volunteers.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Betsy Price, John Rodeberg
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
RiverSong Music Festival
Street Address
PO Box 666 547 Miller Ave SW
Zip Code
(320) 583-5140
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency