Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Green Earth Players
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
October 2013
End Date
June 2014
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Production of Willy WonkaLe Sueur
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
Jane Link: visual artist, Milan Village Arts School founding member, Milan Community Education, Greater Milan Initiative; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Randy Meyer: visual artist and farmer, former art teacher; Kate Aydin: retired educator, developed a curriculum focused on the visual arts, literature, and modern and traditional music of Spain and Latin America, Lincoln County Pioneer Museum board member; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of the Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Vice President of Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, founding member and president of Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, High School English and creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, board member of Prairie Music Association and Prairie Oasis Players; Ellen Copperud: retired language arts teacher, theatre director; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County board member; Sydney Massee; visual artist, theatre, Lac qui Parle Valley School Districts board member; Audrey Fuller; writer, arts advocate, tribal planner, grant writer.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Maggie Harp: musician, music teacher; Carol Purrington: retired English teacher, president of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council; Vonnie Saquilan: arts advocate, Granite Arts Council board member; Kathy Schaefer: musician, photographer, Southwest Minnesota State University business professor; Bev Tellefsen: retired educator, Granite Arts Council board member; Mark Wilmes: president of Lake Benton Opera House, musician, theatre, journalist.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2013, Chapter 137, Article 4, Section 2, Subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2014 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

More Minnesotans, especially those in the Southwest Minnesota Region, will be able to participate in the arts.Achievement will be measured by attendance, audience reviews, and budget adherence. The project will be evaluated at the first monthly board of directors meeting after the close of the show. The artistic and musical director will be invited to participate in a review of the show. Following are the items that will be covered: Actual Spending vs. Budget Report; Box Office Report; Evaluation of the following areas of the production: Acting, Music, Set (design and construction), Lights, Sound, Costume, Make-Up, House, Audience Response, Advertising, Comments from the artistic and musical director of what went well and items and areas that could be improved.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Attendance was higher than expected. We expected 1200 to attend, the actual attendance was 1731. Community response was very positive. The fact that the second weekend had 170 more attendees than the first weekend is proof of that.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Fred Manfred Jr, Dianne Oddenfort, Linda Dummer, Tina Petronek, Terri Ebert, Ashlee Hubbling, Brad Hustoft, DJ Luethje, Casey McKenzie, Cheryl Nath, Phil Voigt, Robin Wessels, Scott Wessels.
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Green Earth Players
Street Address
PO Box 856 903 Dodge St E Apt 2
Zip Code
(507) 283-8294
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency