Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Fair Association of Jackson County
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
May 2018
End Date
August 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Art Appreciation at the 2018 Fair.

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor, director, teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, SMSU Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Lisa Hill: musician, Crow River Singers, attorney; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Emily Petersen: visual artist, art teacher; David KelseyBassett: visual artist, musician; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Erica Volkir: performing arts, Director of Pipestone Area Chamber of Commerce and CVB; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Cheri Buzzeo: theatre, arts admin; Mary Gillespie: visual art, chamber; Dusan Milanovic, theatre; Kaia Nowatzki: visual art; Tom Wirt: visual art, arts/community boards; Brett Lehman: music, SMAC Board; Janet Olney: visual art, arts admin, SMAC Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

These artists per their creations, will stir up in numerous people, an appreciation of their artistic ability. They will be high quality. We will ask that people post-their pictures on our Jackson County Fair Facebook page, therefore we will be able to see the amount of participation. 1. The straw piece will be the center of family photos to be enjoyed for many years to come. We will encourage people to post-their pictures on social media to share with an unlimited amount of people with your signage present. 2. We will take interactive video of the spray paint demos during the fair and post-on our Facebook, to create interest and gather the likes on the page.

Measurable Outcome(s)

The straw art sculpture was the location for many pictures. 96% of people polled said they enjoyed it and would like something similar again.

Proposed Outcomes Achieved
Achieved proposed outcomes.
Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Recipient Board Members
Rob Withers, Jason Diemer, Terri Bargfrede, Mel Post, Ed Yonker, John Chonko, Jeff Fiala, Jeff Hese, Kim Hohenstein, Dave Maschoff, Tom Holthe, Mike Stade, Sandy Phillips, Don Wachal
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Fair Association of Jackson County
Street Address
PO Box 175
Zip Code
(507) 841-0594
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency