Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Eden Valley-Watkins Community Education
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
February 2018
End Date
May 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Experiencing a high quality arts based activity is one goal of this project. Providing the opportunity to have a rewarding experience in putting on a quality production. Providing a better understanding of all that is entailed in the creation of a major production. Providing a musical production of this magnitude will also give a sense of community by having such a large number of people working together. We will conduct multiple surveys to determine success in advertising, planning, rehearsals, and productions. We will be sending electronic surveys through Survey Monkey as well as sending surveys through email, the local newspapers, and having surveys available for people during all performances. Both directors will be assessing the production by talking with cast members, crew, and audience members. We will be putting a comments box out for people to use during all productions.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

The Sound Of Music.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Eden Valley-Watkins Community Education
Street Address
298 Brooks St N
Eden Valley
Zip Code
(320) 224-1371
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor, director, teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, SMSU Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Emily Petersen: visual artist, art teacher; David KelseyBassett: visual artist, musician; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Erica Volkir: performing arts, Director of Pipestone Area Chamber of Commerce and CVB; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual art, writing; Mark Brodin: music, theatre, film; Maureen Keimig: theatre; Kristine Leuze: visual art; Joyce Meyer: visual art, education; Kathy Schaefer: music, visual art; John Voit: music, theatre.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed