Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Danube Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
May 2018
End Date
August 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Provide five concerts in summer 2018 that will reach more than 125 in attendance at each event. We have increased our participation from neighboring towns, and we would like to see that continue to grow so that we see 150 in attendance. We would like to see the attendance by young people (children) grow to 25 per event. We will count the attendees at each concert and record the numbers.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Our measurable outcomes as related to our goals include attendance numbers, with increased numbers from neighboring towns and attendance by younger people (children). 4 of the 5 concerts had attendance over 120; children were an increased presence in 3 of 5 concerts; new faces from neighboring towns, with increased numbers were seen at 4 of 5 concerts.

Proposed Outcomes Achieved
Achieved most of the proposed outcomes
Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Recipient Board Members
Rod Black, Lowell Jakel, Kathy Tepfer, Sandy Frank, Suzie Lueck, Cal Lueck, Stan Malecek, Leroy Nere, Al Schochenmaier, Dorothy Kleinhuizen
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

2018 Concerts in the Park.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Danube Historical Society
Street Address
PO Box 463
Zip Code
(320) 826-2236
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor, director, teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, SMSU Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Lisa Hill: musician, Crow River Singers, attorney; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Emily Petersen: visual artist, art teacher; David KelseyBassett: visual artist, musician; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Erica Volkir: performing arts, Director of Pipestone Area Chamber of Commerce and CVB; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Cheri Buzzeo: theatre, arts admin; Mary Gillespie: visual art, chamber; Dusan Milanovic, theatre; Kaia Nowatzki: visual art; Tom Wirt: visual art, arts/community boards; Brett Lehman: music, SMAC Board; Janet Olney: visual art, arts admin, SMAC Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed