Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Jackson Center for the Arts
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2017
End Date
May 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Winter Concert Series

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, South Dakota Arts Educators Association, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, SMSU Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor SMSU; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Reggie Gorter: music/theatre/SMAC Board; Jeff Iverson: music/theatre; Maureen Keimig: theatre; Paula Nemes: theatre; Janet Olney; visual art/SMAC Board; Kathy Schaefer: visual art/music; Alan Stage: theatre.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

To support high-quality music education for residents of all ages, to develop knowledge, skills, and understanding of the arts. To overcome barriers to accessing high quality arts activities and instill the arts into our community and our region. To increase our number of Partners in Music from 7 in the 2016-17 season, to 8 in the 2017-18 season, therefore validating the concert series and the community support for the music series. We will gather our results from verbal comments at each concert and jam session, keep accurate numbers of attendees, and will be able to assess the support for the project by the number of Partners in Music and the number of repeat partners from the 2016-17 season.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Partners in Music increased in number for the 2017-18 concert series. The actual number of Partners increased by 3, as compared to the 2016-17 season. Ticket income for the six concerts totaled $1004 with donations at the concerts totaling $160.

Proposed Outcomes Achieved
Achieved proposed outcomes.
Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Recipient Board Members
Linda Clarksean, Kathy Fransen, Jodi Edlin, Linda Titus, Pam Ringkob, Cole Behrends, Sharon Sadusky, Melissa Brunk, Gayle More
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Jackson Center for the Arts
Street Address
PO Box 94
Zip Code
(507) 840-1232
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency