Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Willmar Area Symphonic Orchestra
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2017
End Date
May 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Once Upon a Time: 2 Concerts

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwestern Minnesota State University Associate Director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Tom Wirt: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goal is to increase our attendance at each concert over last year's attendance. Specifically, we would like to utilize different marketing strategies to dry to draw a larger audience. Additionally, we want to increase the caliber of the orchestra and guest artists that will draw a larger audience. We would also like to attract a more ethnically diverse audience. We will count our audience and gather audience evaluations at our concerts. We can also add audience characteristics such as age and ethnicity to our survey. We can evaluate our current marketing strategies based upon the reach of our print and online ads. Audience feedback in the survey will also let us know how they heard about our concert and how well it was received, indicating how likely they will be to help grow our audience.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We measured attendance and compare to previous concerts in the last few years. Also measured were the audience demographics and feedback about their concert experience. Of the 15 surveys returned, many had positive and constructive feedback.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Lisa Zeller, Bob Whitney, Stephanie Hendrickson, Kris Poe, Marie Nelson,Frank Lawatsch, Barb Holmgren, Barb Swanson
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Willmar Area Symphonic Orchestra
Street Address
2120 Hwy 71 N ?
Zip Code
(320) 214-9433
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency