Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Hutchinson Center for the Arts
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2017
End Date
December 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

2017 Visual Arts Exhibition

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwest Minnesota State University Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Nicole DeBoer (507) 537-1471

Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1) Support Artists by providing professional/paid opportunities and creating access to a high quality exhibition venue to facilitate creative growth. Goal: Further develop our reputation among Minnesota artists as a venue offering professional and creative growth for artists - from emerging to established artists - locally and regionally in Minnesota. 2) Instilling the arts into our community by presenting unique and dynamic exhibitions and related programming. Goal - Attract local and regional audiences to Hutchinson Center for the Arts and Hutchinson. Further Develop our reputation as a regional hub for the arts. 3) Provide Educational Arts Experiences for our community by creating opportunities to meet and work with visiting artists through public openings and workshops. Goal - Create and Inspire art patrons. Cultivate stakeholders for the arts and Hutchinson Center for the Arts. Play a significant role in making Hutchinson a great place to work, live and visit. 1) Supporting Artists - we will invite exhibiting artists to complete a survey about their experience - to assess how we can continue to improve the gallery experience from the artists' point of view. 2) Instilling the arts into the community - Increased attendance at events and increased support for the Hutchinson Center for the Arts through donations and memberships. We will monitor attendance at exhibits and receptions. We will monitor free will donations at events, membership signups/renewals. Anecdotal feedback will be assessed through the centers guest/sign in book which will also prompt visitors to list the community they live. 3) Educational Arts Experiences - participants in workshops will be invited to complete a survey about their experience from the participants' point of view.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Artists participating in the exhibition series have indicated room for improvement with regards to marketing the exhibits and events. The organization understands the need for increased marketing and continues to explore affordable platforms that will reach a larger demographic and yield higher attendance at public events associated with exhibits.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
LuAnn Drazkowski, Tom Wirt, Deb Froeming, Lena Mowem, Greg Jodzio, Jerry Lindberg, Dorothy Bradley, Steve Cook, Karlie Mosher, Corey Stearns
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Hutchinson Center for the Arts
Street Address
PO Box 667
Zip Code
(320) 587-7278
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency