Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
May 2017
End Date
September 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Yellow Medicine
Yellow Medicine
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Riverside Market and Muse

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwestern Minnesota State University Associate Director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Nicole DeBoer (507) 537-1471

Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Instill the arts into our community and public life through this free series of workshops, classes and performances. We hope to overcome barriers in participating and appreciating theater with the Sod House performance. Support the outdoor theater events that have previously occurred in Granite Falls. Interviews will be conducted at each event, interviewing at least 10 participants or attendees. Attendees will be counted at each event.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We met our participation/attendance goals: There were 35 artists at the Raku workshop, 21 at the Sod House theater workshops and 3 in the play, 30 at the alcohol ink workshop. 15 children received harmonicas and learned how to play at the Joey Flip event. Many more enjoyed the vendors and the free concerts.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Steve Virnig, Nancy Beasley, Scott Tedrick, Helen Stukel, Mary Gillespie
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization
Street Address
PO Box 13
Granite Falls
Zip Code
(320) 564-4039
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency