Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Fair Association of Jackson County
Recipient Type
Local/Regional Government
Start Date
May 2017
End Date
August 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1. To provide a group that represents folk art through their music for the first time at our Fair to create art appreciation. 2. Through Kips' Painting we hope to promote his artistic abilities for an audience to get excited to want to paint and also to promote our 2018 Anniversary with this project. We will publish a short survey on Facebook after the performance and art project: Did you enjoy the performance today? Has the artist inspired you to want to paint? Do you want to see more of these events at next year's fair?

Measurable Outcome(s)

I asked people personally if they enjoyed the 2 events and received positive feedback. Also we conducted a brief survey on Facebook after the Fair. It will help us determine if we should pursue more of these types of events.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Rob Withers, Jason Diemer, Rhonda Nelson, Terri Bargfrede, Ed Yonker, John Chonko, Jeff Fiala, Jeff Heser, Dennis Froderman, Don Wachal, Sandy Phillips, Kim Hohenstein, Dave Maschoff
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Art Appreciation at the Fair

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Fair Association of Jackson County
Street Address
PO Box 175
Zip Code
(507) 841-0594
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwest Minnesota State University Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Ruth Ascher: Arts administration; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; Pam Blake: Visual, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Bill Gossman: Visual, music; Dusan Milanovic: Visual, theatre; Andrew Nordin: Visual; Janet Olney: Visual, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board, Eric Parish: Music, theatre.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Nicole DeBoer (507) 537-1471