Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dawson-Boyd Arts Association
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2017
End Date
June 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Yellow Medicine
Lac qui Parle
Yellow Medicine
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Sweet Land, the musical

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwestern Minnesota State University Associate Director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Tom Wirt: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)
Measurable Outcome(s)

In addition to the informal feedback that we receive in the lobby at intermission and after the show, we received an ample number of audience’s surveys. This production served as an excellent example of how Dawson Boyd Arts Association can collaborate with an arts organization like the History Theatre to present new works to rural Minnesota. This project also showed Dawson Boyd Arts Association the value of community collaborations to increase audience size and to deepen the audience's experience. The success of the talkback following the show reinforced the need to provide that opportunity when possible.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Sue Gerbig, Diane Peet, Karen Collins, Doug Bates, Michael Beyer, Sandie Club, Betty Hastad, Colleen Olson, Rose Wold
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dawson-Boyd Arts Association
Street Address
PO Box 434
Zip Code
(320) 769-2955
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency