Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dassel-Cokato Arts Association
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2017
End Date
May 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Singing For The Cows

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwest Minnesota State University Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact

Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Nicole DeBoer (507) 537-1471

Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

One of our goals is to increase participation in future events sponsored by the Dassel-Cokato Arts Association. We feel if we provide a very positive experience to our audience, they will want to come back to future performances/events. We want our community to know that they can trust the Arts Association to always bring in only good quality, family-friendly programming to our community, and always at very affordable prices. We will be able to track future events with the names of those attending this event by our ticket-selling program. The survey we will provide to all those in attendance, will also help us with future programming. The surveys will be collected after the performance and read and evaluated the board of directors of the Dassel-Cokato Arts Association at our meeting following this performance.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Based on ticket sales, total attendance was 128, 3 more people than anticipated: 115 Adult and 13 Youth. According to all the surveys returned the program was very well received, historically significant, funny and extremely enjoyable to all everyone we heard from! All respondents agreed the ticket prices were affordable! Also, 49 responded YES (with zero NO responses) to the question: "After attending this performance, are you more likely to attend future events sponsored by the DCAA, either here or at the Dassel-Cokato Performing Arts Center!"

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Sue Moore, Tom Nelson, Barbara Lhotka, Becky Nelson, Sheryl Faust, Ron Hungerford, Becky Hungerford
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dassel-Cokato Arts Association
Street Address
PO Box 111
Zip Code
(320) 275-3760
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency