Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dassel Area Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2017
End Date
October 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Rooster Ruckus

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwestern Minnesota State University Associate Director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Tom Wirt: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

By involving about 20 area artists, we are offering an opportunity for these artists to expand their creativity with a project that hasn't been offered before. Displaying this project in a public venue will present art to an audience in an informal and easily accessible setting. This audience may not otherwise have sought out contact with this project. This public setting will expand the art experience for the general public in our area/region. We will conduct a survey for a People's Choice Award which will include a space for comments. We will know by the number of people attending the auction and their response. We will listen for verbal evaluations from the audience and artists.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Evaluation included the number of artists participating (22), the number of people stopping to view the roosters and the amount of interest and comments about the roosters, the number of people attending the auction (more than 170), and the comments received from the artists, those attending the auction and those viewing the roosters when they were on display. All the comments were enthusiastically positive. People appreciated the art and were amazed. They had fun, and they are still talking about it. It lived up to its title Rooster Ruckus.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
David Floren, John Sandstede, Dianne Johnson, Robert Wilde, Julie Lindquist, Jerry Bollman, Maribel Gilmer, Mary Jane Arens, Sherrie Bjork, Elaine Nordlie, Carolyn Holje, Lynda Peterson, Bonnie Utecht
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dassel Area Historical Society
Street Address
PO Box D
Zip Code
(320) 275-3077
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

509 W Main St, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

Phone Manager: Nicole DeBoer
(507) 537-1471
Email the Agency