Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Buffalo Ridge Chorale
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
March 2017
End Date
October 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Lac qui Parle
Lac qui Parle
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Spring and Fall Concert Series

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art teacher, visual arts, Tyler Arts Council, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwestern Minnesota State University Associate Director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner of Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice and dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Ron Porep: Arts administration; Ruth Ascher: arts administration; Sheila Tabaka: Theatre; Cheryl Avenel-Navara: Arts appreciator; John Voit: Music, theatre; Joyce Meyer: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board; Tom Wirt: visual arts, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council Board.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

This project's goals are incorporated into our mission statement, to provide an opportunity for singers in the Lincoln County, Minnesota, area to practice and perform challenging choral music. A secondary goal is for the chorale to attempt genres that are new to them or at least situations--such as different venues--that are new. Our concrete goal is to maintain chorale numbers at 30 or more and to maintain audience numbers at 150 or more. At our last concert, we initiated the use of a professional musician from outside the community to write an evaluation of our performance. Her critique was very useful and we plan to use this form of evaluation again. Our chorale and audience numbers are easily quantifiable.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Our goal for chorale membership is 30, and we far exceeded that with 43 and 44 members, respectively, at our spring and fall concerts. We did not quite meet our attendance goal of 150 paid attendance at each concert; we had only 140 paid attendees at the spring concert and 147 at the fall concert.

Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Donna Kurth, Nancy Sandro, Roberta Trooien, Beverly Johnson, Dana Crooks, David Pollard
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Buffalo Ridge Chorale
Street Address
48542 197th St
Zip Code
(605) 832-2651
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency