Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Willmar Community Education
Recipient Type
K-12 Education
Start Date
September 2018
End Date
November 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Cultural Heritage

2019 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Our overarching goal with this project is to present a high quality program of a strong educational and artistic nature, while being enjoyable and accessible to all members of our community, regardless of age, background or ability. Another important goal, which is harder to measure in the short term is to help foster tolerance and respect for people of other cultures. Every participating teacher will be asked to fill out the teacher evaluation form. They will also be told that they are welcome to have all of their students fill out evaluation forms, but that we ask that at least have five students in each class do so. We will also have evaluation forms available to attending seniors and to the public performance audience. These will be gathered and tallied by project director Jodi Wambeke and the results will be included in this grant's final report, together with verbal comments made by the music, band, choir, and orchestra teachers in a post-program staff meeting.

Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

A World of Music.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Willmar Community Education
Street Address
1234 Kandiyohi Ave SW
Zip Code
(320) 231-8490
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor, theater director, theater teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, Southwest Minnesota Weaver’s Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, Southwest Minnesota State University Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Lisa Hill: musician, Crow River Singers, attorney; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Emily Petersen: visual artist, art teacher; David KelseyBassett: visual artist, musician; Anne O’Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Erica Volkir: performing arts, Director of Pipestone Area Chamber of Commerce and CVB; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Mark Bosveld: theater, dance; Cheri Buzzeo: theater; Mary Gillespie: art administration; Maureen Keimig: theater; Kaia Nowatzki: visual art, theater, music; Eric Parrish: music, theater; Lisa Hill: music; Erica Volkir: performing arts.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed