Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Willmar Area Symphonic Orchestra
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
February 2018
End Date
April 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

2 Concerts: "Story Time" and "Young Artists".

Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor, director, teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, SMSU Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Emily Petersen: visual artist, art teacher; David KelseyBassett: visual artist, musician; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Erica Volkir: performing arts, Director of Pipestone Area Chamber of Commerce and CVB; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Joyce Aakre: visual art, writing; Mark Brodin: music, theatre, film; Maureen Keimig: theatre; Kristine Leuze: visual art; Joyce Meyer: visual art, education; Kathy Schaefer: music, visual art; John Voit: music, theatre.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

1) Instill the arts into the community and public life: Double season ticket sales each year for the next two years by promoting season tickets at first concert (ticket sellers, sell at intermission) and by offering concert package after first concert (-$10 from cost). Increase audience size by getting sponsorships and community buy-in and providing a variety of music to appeal to all. 2) Creating high quality art and art education: Increase the skill level of the musicians by working with professionals at sectionals or as mentors and by the conductor will sharing video links and information about composers and/or pieces. We will count our audience and gather audience evaluations at our concerts. We will track season ticket sales. We can evaluate our current marketing strategies based upon the reach of our print and online ads. Audience feedback in the survey will also let us know how they heard about our concert and how well it was received, indicating how likely they will be to help grow our audience. Included in the surveys are suggestions from the audience as to what they would like to hear in the future, to better help us connect with the audience.

Measurable Outcome(s)

We measured attendance and compare to previous concerts in the last few years. Also measured were the audience demographics and feedback about their concert experience. Of the numerous surveys returned, many had specific positive comments about the narrator, young artist performers, and the visual images during “Pictures”.

Proposed Outcomes Achieved
Achieved most of the proposed outcomes
Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Recipient Board Members
Lisa Zeller, Bob Whitney, Stephanie Hendrickson, Kris Poe, Marie Nelson, Frank Lawatsch, Barb Holmgren, Barb Swanson, John Mack, Jordan Wrobleski
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Willmar Area Symphonic Orchestra
Street Address
913 Hwy 71 N c/o Whitney Music
Zip Code
(320) 214-9433
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency