Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Marshall-Lyon County Library
Recipient Type
Start Date
June 2018
End Date
September 2018
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2017 Regular Session, chapter 91, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access ACHF Arts Education

2018 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The main goal of offering this workshop is to help attendees learn new skills, gain confidence in their craft, and take the next steps toward a finished, published manuscript. It is in line with the Library's 4th strategic goal: "Those who are curious about honing and using their creativity and skills in non-traditional employment tracks are immersed in possibilities that help formulate decisions and create individualized paths and definitions of economic success." A secondary goal is to increase participation in NaNoWriMo. The goal will be that at least 25% of the workshop attendees will participate in NaNoWriMo at the library this November. Evaluations of the workshop will be completed by attendees. Part of the survey will ask what other ways the Library can support writers. Workshop participants will be compared against those participating in NaNoWriMo. This will provide the answer for our goal of at least 25% participation.

Measurable Outcome(s)

"The main goal of offering this workshop is to help attendees learn new skills, gain confidence in their craft, and take the next steps toward a finished, published manuscript." From the responses on the surveys, this goal was met for attendees in very specific and personal ways, and in their feelings of being encouraged and inspired. They talked about how much they learned and what their next steps could be. They were also asked what advice they would give to other writers after attending this workshop. Several mentioned attending a workshop like this one; others gave specifics on plot, processes, as well as words of encouragement that they could finish their project. A specific goal was to have 25% of attendees participate in the Library’s National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) activities, and we exceeded that. Of the 24 attendees, 8 have showed up at least once at NaNoWriMo programs this month.

Proposed Outcomes Achieved
Achieved most of the proposed outcomes
Source of Additional Funds

Other,local or private

Recipient Board Members
Bill Cole, Gwen Sturrock, Steve Ritter, Craig Schager, Pam Gladis, Mark Goodenow, Michael Murray, Eric DeGroot, Karen van Keulen
Project Overview

Art Project

Project Details

Writing Workshop.

Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Marshall-Lyon County Library
Street Address
2145 280th Ave
Zip Code
(507) 537-7003
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications

John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor, director, teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Pam Blake: retired art educator, visual artist, Tyler Arts Council, Lincoln County Art Fair, Southwest Minnesota Weaver's Guild; Michele Knife Sterner: theatre actor, SMSU Associate director for Access Opportunity Success program; Lisa Hill: musician, Crow River Singers, attorney; Joyce Aakre: visual arts, writing, Discover Dassel committee, Board member for Litchfield Community Education, Exhibit committee for Dassel Area Historical Society; Emily Petersen: visual artist, art teacher; David KelseyBassett: visual artist, musician; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Erica Volkir: performing arts, Director of Pipestone Area Chamber of Commerce and CVB; Claire Swanson: visual arts, arts teacher, Meander Art Crawl Committee.

Advisory Group Members and Qualifications

Craig Edwards: visual art; Kathy Fransen: music, theater, SMAC Board; Jeff Iverson: music, theater, teacher; Jane Lanphere: arts organizations; Eileen O'Keefe: nonprofits, visual art; Claire Swanson: visual art, art teacher; Sheila Tabaka: theater.

Conflict of Interest Disclosed