Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Hutchinson Photography Club
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
September 2016
End Date
March 2017
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
2016 Hutchinson Photography Club Showcase
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, former High School English/creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O’Keefe-Jackson: human resources director, bead and quill artist; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Craig Edwards: potter; Chad Felton: Music and theatre artist; Paula Nemes: Theatre artist, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council board member; Jane Nygaard: Arts appreciator; Janet Olney: Visual artist, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council board member; Tom Wirt: Visual artist, Southwest Minnesota Arts Council board member.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Conflict of Interest Contact
Southwest Minnesota Arts Council, Greta Murray (507) 537-1471
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2017 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

Because of the diversity of skill levels, we realize that not everyone feels comfortable displaying their art to the public. Our goal is to encourage 80% (7% higher than last year) of our members to enter at least one print into the showcase. Each year, it is our hope that more people attend the showcase than the previous year. Last year we had approximately 170 guests. With our evaluation, we hope to capture how people felt about the showcase. Each year we ask our guests to vote for a print from each category they enjoy the most. Last year found out that we get a more accurate attendance counting the ballots over a guestbook. The evaluation is printed on the back of the ballot to make it easier for the guests.

Measurable Outcome(s)

A seven question evaluation form was printed on the backside of the People's Choice voting sheet. The majority of the evaluations came back positive It is always a concern to us that we receive comments (verbal and written) about the venue size being too small and crowded and the lighting being poor. We have worked with the Center for the Arts on getting more lighting in the past, but it appears we may need more. We also need to figure out a way for more space. It seems the public is in favor of a spring show in addition to the fall show.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Zak Lakovic, David Wynia, Becky Wynia, Barb Rieger, Kristine Leuze
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Hutchinson Photography Club
Street Address
15 Franklin St
Zip Code
(320) 587-3740
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency