Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Dassel Area Historical Society
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
May 2016
End Date
December 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Discover Dassel Art Tour 2016
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, former High School English/creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: Human Resources Director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Bill Gossman: visual artist, musician; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Maureen Keimig: actor, theater director; Mary Pieh: musician.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Access

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The project goals include supporting art and artists in the Dassel area as well as supporting economic development through arts and culture. The goals will be measured by requesting artists, business persons, and visitors to fill out brief surveys.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Visitor Surveys -- 48 filled out: 1. How many art tours, meanders, etc. have you attended? Responses -- first tour, 7; one to three, 17; three to five, 9; more than five, 15. 2. How would you evaluate the Discover Dassel art tour? Responses -- excellent, 37; very good, 11. 3. Would you consider attending this tour again? Responses--all said, yes. 4. How did you hear about this tour? Responses -- word of mouth, 26; postcards and brochures, 16; newspaper/shopper, 17. 5. How could this tour be improved? Responses -- better signage (3), make it bigger, better online information. The rest of the comments were very positive (16). The comments from visitors were overwhelmingly positive. Almost everyone expressed amazement. Participating Artist Surveys—29 distributed, 17 filled out: 1. How many people stopped at your booth? Three said 50; all of the rest said 100 or more. 2. Did you have art sales? All but three said, yes; 3. Did you have first time client/customer contacts? All but one said, yes. 4. Do you think the Discover Dassel Art Tour is worth repeating? All said, yes. 5. Will you participate in a future Discover Dassel Art Tour? All said, yes. 6. What are your suggestions for another year? Six said, end at 4 p.m., more public seating, improved lighting; all the rest had positive comments. Many positive comments were heard from artists about the venues and the whole day.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
David Floren, John Sandstede, Dianne Johnson, Robert Wilde, Julie Lindquist, Jerry Bollman, Maribel Gilmer, Mary Jan Arens, Sherrie Bjork, Elaine Nordlie, Carolyn Holje, Lynda Peterson, Jena Levandowski, Sheryl Faust
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Dassel Area Historical Society
Street Address
PO Box D
Zip Code
(320) 275-3077
Administered By
Administered by

Griggs Midway Building, Suite 304,
540 Fairview Avenue North,
St. Paul, MN 55104

(651) 539-2650 or toll-free (800) 866-2787
Email the Agency

114 3rd Street North, PO Box 55
Marshall, Minnesota 56258 

800-622-5284 or 507-537-1471
Email the Agency