Minnesota's Legacy

Art Project

Project Details by Fiscal Year
2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Fund Source
Arts & Cultural Heritage Fund
Balaton Chamber of Commerce
Recipient Type
Non-Profit Business/Entity
Start Date
July 2016
End Date
July 2016
Activity Type
Counties Affected
Legal Citation / Subdivision
Laws of Minnesota 2015 Special Session, chapter 2, article 4, section 2, subdivision 3
Appropriation Language

ACHF Arts Education

2016 Fiscal Year Funding Amount
Other Funds Leveraged
Direct expenses
Administration costs
Number of full time equivalents funded
Proposed Measurable Outcome(s)

The goal of the Balaton Chamber of Commerce’s sponsorship of this children-centered event is to provide a program of entertainment that includes participation and interaction that allows children and adults alike to leave the performance with a positive self-image and realization of their own abilities. Measurable outcome: Based upon the popularity of the 2015 Teddy Bear Band appearance, we anticipate an increase in attendance with a goal of 70 attendees. Evaluation of the event will include: A concise count of event attendees, with distinction between children and adults, will be completed. Area educators in elementary music will be invited to attend and give their input.

Measurable Outcome(s)

Children participating in the program presented with smiling faces, use of imaginations while participating, activities promoting physical activity, and much child and parent interaction were supported by the 36 completed post performance surveys.

Description of Funds
Source of Additional Funds

Other, local or private

Recipient Board Members
Julie Erickson, Tami Wee, Marla Anderson
Project Overview
Art Project
Project Details
Teddy Bears, Music and Fun
Project Manager
First Name
Last Name
Organization Name
Balaton Chamber of Commerce
Street Address
PO Box 1
Zip Code
(507) 734-2351
Competitive Grant Making Body
Board Members and Qualifications
John White: writer, photographer, retired journalist; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Marilee Strom: musician, former art teacher, business owner; Kathy Fransen: musician, theatre, Rhythm of the River coordinator; Janet Olney: visual artist, Willmar Area Arts Council coordinator; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Kate Aydin: retired educator; Paula Nemes: musician, librarian, former coordinator of Marshall Area Fine Arts Council, Marshall Area Stage Company; Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member of Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Susan Marco: writer, former High School English/creative writing teacher; Kelly Muldoon: graphic artist, Prairie Music Association, Prairie Oasis Players; Dan Wahl: writer, visual artist, director, adjunct English instructor at Southwest Minnesota State University; Anne O'Keefe-Jackson: Human Resources Director, bead and quill work; Cindy Reverts: visual artist, Rock County Fine Arts Association treasurer, Council for Arts in Humanities in Rock County; Brett Lehman: Worthington International Festival, Worthington City Band, Worthington Concert Association; Reggie Gorter: vocalist, theatre, voice/dance teacher; Dana Johnson: producer/filmmaker; Scott Tedrick: journalist, Granite Falls Riverfront Revitalization, theatre director/actor.
Advisory Group Members and Qualifications
Tom Wirt: artist, owner Clay Coyote Gallery, Hutchinson Center for the Arts, past member Hutchinson Public Arts Commission; Joyce Meyer: photographer, retired art teacher, Canby Arts Council; Bill Gossman: visual artist, musician; Georgette Jones: literature teacher, theatre actor/director/teacher; Maureen Keimig: actor, theater director; Mary Pieh: musician.
Conflict of Interest Disclosed